the nomad

Today I was consulting the map before going out for a walk with Dorothy our dog. I knew already that I had been on most of the nearby streets, but I thought there might be some great route on other streets I hadn’t yet seen. Well, I couldn’t find any.

I felt rather disappointed. And then, at the moment I felt this way, I discovered something about myself… 
long-walk21

After every one of my recent frequent moves, there has come a point when the excitement of new surroundings has faded away. This always comes as the end of the first year approaches. At that point I find myself more often secluded at home, dreaming of impractably ambitious adventures, and therefore listless. I have lived in Wellington for ten months, and have now reached this point. I feel ready to move on, try something new, have another adventure.

It is the transitions that I live for. The bigger the change, the greater my excitement. I live to see new sights, try new things, go to new places. The local streets I have already explored have now faded into monotone in my head. I have no interest in routine. Unlike some (my wife, for example), I find no safety or consolation in status quo.

Similarly, I look forward to the transitions between the four seasons of the year, often so much so that I don’t take advantage of the season I happen to be in at the moment.

I am an explorer/adventurer/seeker/searcher. I am not a settler.

Many other examples flooded into my mind at that moment this morning when I looked up from the map. The way I cook! I am constantly trying new things, making new concoctions. I don’t follow recipes. The way I garden! Preparing and planting a new plot of ground is exciting – but then I’ll just leave it to itself (to a large extent). The way I blog! The topics and format are constantly changing.

Ideally, I would live a partly nomadic lifestyle: living in portable shelter for much of the time, and ranging far, but having a humble home to which to return at the appropriate times.

And the walk? Well, Dorothy and I managed to find a few new streets to explore after all, had some adventures, and came home happy and with stories to tell. Ah – blissful adventuring!

One thought on “the nomad

  1. This brings to mind the seasonal round of the Northern Paiute. For centuries, they moved constantly throughout the year, often living in brush wickiups.

    It sounds like an interesting lifestyle to me. I’d choose it over the more settled lifestyle of the tribes of the coast and interior valleys of Oregon.

    In truth though, in terms of spiritual depth, both lifestyles would score significantly above the mindless consumerism so many choose in our “advanced” industrialized cultures.

Leave a Reply

