life is sweet

A little video from me:

Photos: David & Eilidh Wahl
Arrangement: David Wahl
Music: Natalie Merchant

Location of photos: Karori Cemetery, Wellington, NZ

Lyrics:

Natalie Merchant, “Life is Sweet”

It’s a pity
It’s a crying shame
Who pulled you down again?
How painful it must be
To bruise so easily inside

It’s a pity
It’s a downright crime
But it happens all the time
You wanna stay little daddy’s girl
Wanna hide from the vicious world outside

But don’t cry
Know the tears’ll do no good
So dry your eyes

Your daddy he’s the iron man
A battleship wrecked on dry land
Your mama she’s a bitter bride
She’ll never be satisfied,
And you know
That’s not right

But don’t cry
Know the tears’ll do no good
So dry your eyes

They told you life is hard
It’s misery from the start
It’s dull and slow and painful

I tell you life is sweet
In spite of the misery
There’s so much more
Be grateful

Who do you believe?
Who will you listen to
Who will it be?
It’s high time that you decide
In your own mind

Tried to comfort you
Tried to tell you to be patient
They are blind
They can’t see

Fortune gonna come some day
All gonna fade away
Your daddy the war machine and
Your mama the long and suffering
Prisoner of what she can not see

They told you life is hard
It’s misery from the start
It’s dull and slow and painful

I tell you life is sweet
In spite of the misery
There’s so much more
Be grateful

Who do you believe?
Who will you listen to
Who will it be?

It’s high time you decide
It’s time you make up your own sweet little mind

They told you life is long
Be thankful when it’s done
Don’t ask for more
You should be grateful

But I tell you life is short
Be thankful because before you know
It will be over

Cause life is sweet
And life is also very short
Your life is sweet

3 thoughts on “life is sweet

  1. way awesome man! It chokes me up…even after the zillienth (todays made up word) time I’ve seen it =)

    you seriously need to make another one.

  2. David, I started watching this last week and got interupted after about 40 seconds. I’m so glad you mentioned it on FB- I just finished watching it. It chokes me up too- great song to put with it. And the pictures…AMAZING. How I’d love to meander through that place. I bet I could amuse myself for hours, reading names, admiring architectural details, pondering the people who once walked this earth, and relishing the silence. I know it has to be a quiet little place, because it just looks like it is. Wow. Very cool.

  3. Hi David, we have never met but I new Eilidh in Dallas TX, Thank you so much for the pictures! This is a way that I can see where you guys live, wow what a place.

Leave a Reply

